THE 4990 Course Schedule - Spring 2017 (projected)

1 | Wed Jan 17 | Introduction to the Theology of Beauty

READ:

COMPLETE (in class):

UNIT 1: THEOLOGY OF BEAUTY

2 | Wed Jan 24 | From Ideology to Humanism

READ:

  • Psalms 7 - 18
  • Wolfe, Beauty Will Save the World, Prologue and Chapters 1 – 4, pgs. ix – 46
  • Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, “Nobel Lecture”, online

COMPLETE:

3 | Wed Jan 31 | Christianity, Literature, and Modernity | Receive Minor Paper on the Theology of Beauty (DUE Tue Feb 13)

READ:

  • Psalms 19 - 30
  • Wolfe, Beauty Will Save the World, Chapters 5 – 8, pgs. 49 – 101

COMPLETE:

4 | Wed Feb 7 | Writers, Artists, and Essayists on Beauty

READ:

  • Psalms 31 - 42
  • Wolfe, Beauty Will Save the World, Selections from Chapters 9 – 21, pgs. 105 – 257

COMPLETE:

UNIT 2: BEAUTY IN THE ARTS

5 | Wed Feb 14 | Christianity and the Arts

READ:

  • Psalms 43 - 54
  • Edith Hamilton, Mythology, “Cupid and Psyche,” pgs. 121-134, selection online
  • C. S. Lewis, Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold, Part I, Chapters 1-3, pgs. 3-34, Note, pgs. 311-313

COMPLETE:

6 | Wed Mar 7 | Christianity and the Arts

READ:

  • Psalms 55 - 66
  • Lewis, Till We Have Faces, Part I, Chapters 4-13, pgs. 35-153

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Beauty Assignment Sheet 6

7 | Wed Mar 14 | Christianity and the Arts | Receive Occasion of Joy Minor Paper on Beauty in Literature (Due Mar 29)

READ:

  • Psalms 67 - 78
  • Lewis, Till We Have Faces, Part I, Chapters 14-21, pgs. 154-250

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Beauty Assignment Sheet 7

8 | Wed Mar 21 | Christianity and the Arts

READ:

  • Psalms 79 - 90
  • Lewis, Till We Have Faces, Part II, Chapters 1-4, pgs. 253-309

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Beauty Assignment Sheet 8

UNIT 3: BEAUTY AS CULTURE MAKING AND CULTURE CARE

9 | Wed Mar 28 | Culture

READ:

  • Psalms 91 - 102
  • Andy Crouch, Culture Making: Recovering Our Creative Calling, Introduction and Chapters 1 – 5, pgs. 9 – 100

COMPLETE:

10 | Wed Apr 4 | Gospel

READ:

  • Psalms 103 - 114
  • Andy Crouch, Culture Making, Chapters 6 - 11, pgs. 101 – 183

COMPLETE:

11 | Wed Apr 11 | Calling | Interview tip Special Guest Fr. Paul Anel

READ:

  • Psalms 115 - 126
  • Andy Crouch, Culture Making, Chapters 12 - 16, Postscript, pgs. 187 - 268

COMPLETE:

12 | Wed Apr 18 | Culture Care | Interview with Special Guest Mike Mangione

READ:

  • Psalms 127 - 138
  • Fujimura, Culture Care: Reconnecting with Beauty for Our Common Life, Preface and Chapters 1 - 9, pgs. 12 - 77

COMPLETE:

13 | Wed Apr 25 | Culture Care

READ:

  • Psalms 139 - 150
  • Fujimura, Culture Care, Chapters 10 - 18 and Postscript, pgs. 78 - 140

COMPLETE:

14 | Wed May 10 | Final Exam Week

COMPLETE: