Joachim_Fiore_Three_Status_Trinitarian_Circles.jpg

THE 440 Course Schedule - Spring 2018 (projected)

UNIT 1: Second Temple Judaism and Early Christian Apocalyptic Literature

1 | Tue Jan 29 | Introduction to Eschatology

READ:

  • Mark 13:1-37
  • Matthew 24:1-51
  • 2 Thessalonians
  • Revelation 1 - 22

COMPLETE:

  • Greetings and Salutations Information Sheet (in class)

2 | Tue Feb 5 | Crucible of Faith - Jewish Eschatology

READ:

  • Shema Yisrael, online
  • Deuteronomy 26:5-11
  • Nehemiah 7:73 - 9:38
  • Zechariah 1:1 - 14:21
  • Prophets Timeline, online
  • Jenkins, Crucible of Faith, Introduction and Chapter 1, pgs. ix - 25

3 | Tue Feb 12 | Crucible of Faith - Greek Eschatology

READ:

  • Jenkins, Crucible of Faith, Chap 2-4, pgs. 27-95
  • Book of Enoch, online

4 | Tue Feb 19 | Crucible of Faith - Late Jewish Apocalyptic Literature

READ:

  • Jenkins, Crucible of Faith, Chap 5-9, pgs. 97-194
  • 1 - 2 Maccabees

COMPLETE:

  • Minor Paper Summary of Major Journals

5 | Tue Feb 26 | Crucible of Faith - Early Christian Eschatology | Early Class Dismissal at 6pm (Interfaith Dialogue and Dinner Event)

READ:

  • Jenkins, Crucible of Faith, Chap 10 - Conclusion, pgs. 195-250
  • Hebrews 1:1 - 13:25

UNIT 2: Current Eschatology

6 | Tue Mar 12 | Catholic Eschatology

READ:

  • Ratzinger, Eschatology, Introduction and Part 1, pgs. 1-66

7 | Tue Mar 19 | Catholic Eschatology (continued)

READ:

  • Ratzinger, Eschatology, Part 2, pgs. 69-161

8 | Tue Mar 26 | Catholic Eschatology

READ:

  • Ratzinger, Eschatology, Part 3 and Afterward, pgs. 165-274

COMPLETE:

  • Minor Paper on Eschatology in Art, Culture, or Liturgy

UNIT 3: Current Theologies of Hope

9 | Tue Apr 2 | Christian Hope | Pope Benedict XVI Spe Salvi

READ:

  • Benedict XVI, Spe Salvi, online

10 | Tue Apr 9 | Christian Hope | Balthasar on Hope

READ:

  • Balthasar, Dare We Hope, Forward and Chap. 1 - 11, pgs. ix - 123

11 | Tue Apr 16 | Balthasar on Hell

READ:

  • Balthasar, Dare We Hope, Chap. 1-7, Epilogue, pgs. 129-204

12 | Tue Apr 23 | Book of Revelation | Research Presentations

READ:

  • Book of Revelation 1–10
  • Luke Timothy Johnson, The Writings of the New Testament, Chapter 26, selection online

COMPLETE:

  • Presentations on a Significant Modern or Post Modern Eschatology

13 | Tue Apr 30 | Book of Revelation (continued) | Research Presentations

READ:

  • Book of Revelation 11–22
  • William Kurz, S.J., What Does the Bible Say About the End Times? A Catholic View, Introduction and Chapter 5, selection online

COMPLETE:

  • Presentations on a Significant Modern or Post Modern Eschatology

14 | Tue May 14 | Final Research Paper Due