THE 2210 Course Schedule - Spring 2017 (projected)

1 | Thu Jan 19 | Introduction and Overview to Ecclesiology

READ:

COMPLETE (in class):

UNIT 1: OLD TESTAMENT FOUNDATIONS

2 | Mon Jan 23 | Introduction to the Old Testament Age, Creation, and Fall

READ:

  • Psalms 1 - 6
  • Genesis 1:1 – 3:24
  • Revelation 21:1 – 22:21
  • Gerhard Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. vii – 26

COMPLETE:

3 | Thu Jan 26 | Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob/Israel

READ:

  • Psalms 7 - 12
  • Genesis 12:1–9, 15:1–21, 17:1–26, 22:1–19 - Outline
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 26 – 49

COMPLETE:

4 | Mon Jan 30 | Gathering of the People of God

READ:

  • Psalms 13 - 18
  • Exodus 1:1 – 13:16 - Outline
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 50 – 74

COMPLETE:

5 | Thu Feb 2 | Torah and Resistance

READ:

  • Psalms 19 - 24
  • Exodus 19:1 – 20:20
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 74 – 106

COMPLETE:

6 | Mon Feb 6 | The Form of the People of God | Old Testament Foundations Review

READ:

  • Psalms 25 - 30
  • Joshua 24:1-33
  • 1 Samuel 8:1 - 10:27; 16:1-13
  • Nehemiah 7:73 - 9:5
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 106 – 120

COMPLETE:

7 | Thu Feb 9 | Class Cancelled - Snow Day

8 | Mon Feb 13 | EXAM 1 ON THE OLD TESTAMENT FOUNDATIONS

READ:

  • Psalms 31 - 36

COMPLETE:

  • OCCASION OF JOY EXAM 1 on Old Testament Foundations

UNIT 2: NEW TESTAMENT FOUNDATIONS

9 | Thu Feb 16 | Introduction to the New Testament Age

READ:

  • Psalms 37 - 42
  • Matthew 1:1–25, 10:1–42
  • Luke 1:1 – 2:52
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 121 - 134

COMPLETE:

10 | Thu Feb 23 | The Kingdom of God and Superabundant Salvation

READ:

  • Psalms 43 - 48
  • Mark 1:1–45, 6:30-41
  • John 1:1 – 2:25
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 134 – 150

COMPLETE:

11 | Mon Mar 6 | Sacramental Structure and Manifold Character of Vocations

READ:

  • Psalms 49 - 54
  • Matthew 16:13–28, 20:1–16
  • Mark 2:1 – 10:52
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 150 – 184

COMPLETE:

12 | Thu Mar 9 | Death of Jesus and the Birth of the Church

READ:

  • Psalms 55 - 60
  • Mark 14:1 – 16:20
  • John 19:1 - 42
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 184 – 201

COMPLETE:

13 | Mon Mar 13 | The Exodus Continues and the Gathering of the Church

READ:

  • Psalms 61 - 66
  • Acts 1:1 – 2:47, 3:1–6:7, 13:1–3, 15:1–35
  • Philippians 1:1 – 4:23
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 203 – 236

COMPLETE:

14 | Thu Mar 16 | Remembering and the Body of Christ

READ:

  • Psalms 67 - 72
  • Romans 9:1 – 11:36
  • 1 Corinthians 10:1 – 12:31
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 236 – 264

COMPLETE:

15 | Mon Mar 20 | Baptism, Learning, Wholeness, and Unity | New Testament Foundations Review

READ:

  • Psalms 73 - 78
  • Ephesians 4:1-32
  • Lohfink, Does God Need the Church?, pgs. 264 – 309

COMPLETE:

16 | Thu Mar 23 | EXAM 2 ON THE NEW TESTAMENT FOUNDATIONS

READ:

  • Psalms 79 - 84

COMPLETE:

  • OCCASION OF JOY EXAM 2 on New Testament Foundations

UNIT 3: THE CHURCH IN THE 20TH CENTURY - Vatican II

17 | Mon Mar 27 | Growth of Christianity and the Second Vatican Council

READ:

  • Psalms 85 - 90
  • Gaudium et Spes, selections online

COMPLETE:

18 | Thu Mar 30 | Second Vatican Council (continued)

READ:

  • Psalms 91 - 96
  • Lumen Gentium, selections online

COMPLETE:

UNIT 4: THE CHURCH IN THE 21st CENTURY

19 | Mon Apr 3 | class cancelled

20 | Thu Apr 6 | Christian Revolution

READ:

  • Psalms 97 - 102
  • Jenkins, The Next Christendom, Preface and Chapter 1, pgs. xi - 20

COMPLETE:

21 | Mon Apr 10 | Disciples of All Nations and Missionaries and Prophets

READ:

  • Psalms 103 - 108
  • Jenkins, The Next Christendom, Chapter 2 - 3, pgs. 21 - 68

COMPLETE:

22 | WED Apr 12 | class cancelled

23 | Thu Apr 20 | Standing Alone and Rise of New Christianity

READ:

  • Psalms 109 - 120
  • Jenkins, The Next Christendom, Chapter 4 - 5, pgs. 69 - 133

COMPLETE:

24 | Mon Apr 24 | Coming to Terms and God and the World

READ:

  • Psalms 121 - 126
  • Jenkins, The Next Christendom, Chapter 6 - 7, pgs. 134 - 200

COMPLETE:

25 | Thu Apr 27 | The Next Crusade and Islam

READ:

  • Psalms 127 - 132
  • Jenkins, The Next Christendom, Chapter 8, pgs. 201 - 236

COMPLETE:

26 | Mon May 1 | Coming Home and Seeing Christianity Again for the First Time | Final Exam Review

READ:

  • Psalms 133 - 150
  • Jenkins, The Next Christendom, Chapter 9 - 10, pgs. 237 - 276

COMPLETE:

27 | Thu May 4 | Final Cumulative Exam

  • Final Research Paper DUE - Noon, Monday, May 8
  • Final Exam: Section 13467 (9:05am edition): Final Exam, Thursday, May 4, 9:05am - 11:05am