THE 1000C Course Schedule (projected):

1 | Fri Jan 24 | Introduction and Overview

READ:

COMPLETE (in class):

2 | Tue Jan 28 | The Dramatic Climax of the Bible and Reading the Bible as a Drama

READ:

  • Bible, Matthew 1:1-17
  • John 1:1-18

COMPLETE:

OLD TESTAMENT (THE BEGINNING – 3BC)

BIBLICAL PERIOD 1: ANCIENT WORLD (THE BEGINNING – 2000BC)

3 | Fri Jan 31 | The Beginning

READ:

COMPLETE:

BIBLICAL PERIOD 2: PATRIARCHS (2000 – 1800BC)

4 | Tue Feb 4 | Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob (Israel)

READ:

  • Genesis 12:1 – 50:26

COMPLETE:

BIBLICAL PERIOD 3: EXODUS AND CONQUEST (1800 – 1020BC)

5 | Fri Feb 7 | Moses and the Exodus

READ:

COMPLETE:

6 | Tue Feb 11 | Joshua, the Conquest of Canaan, and Judges

READ:

COMPLETE:

BIBLICAL PERIOD 4: ROYAL KINGDOM (1020 – 922BC)

7 | Fri Feb 14 | King Saul, King David, and King Solomon

READ:

  • 1 Samuel 8:1 - 18:9
  • 2 Samuel 5:1 - 12:31, 23:1–7

COMPLETE:

BIBLICAL PERIOD 5: DIVIDED KINGDOM AND EXILE (922 – 538BC)

8 | Tue Feb 18 | The Divided Kingdom and the Age of the Prophets

READ:

  • 1 Kings 9:26 - 2 Kings 2:14
  • Isaiah 1:1 - 12:6

COMPLETE:

9 | Fri Feb 21 | Exile in Babylon and the Prophet Daniel

READ:

  • 2 Kings 17:1-23, 24:8 - 25:30
  • Daniel 1:1 - 14:42

COMPLETE:

BIBLICAL PERIOD 6: RETURN AND REVOLT (538 – 3BC)

10 | Tue Feb 25 | Return to Jerusalem and Maccabean Revolt | RECEIVE TAKE HOME EXAM 2

READ:

  • Ezra 1:1 - 10:44
  • Nehemiah 8:1 - 9:38
  • 1 Maccabees 1:1 - 9:73

COMPLETE:

NEW TESTAMENT (3BC – AD100)

BIBLICAL PERIOD 7: MESSIANIC FULFILLMENT (3BC – AD30)

11 | Fri Feb 28 | Introduction to the New Testament and the Historical Jesus

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 1
  • Mark 1

COMPLETE:

12 | Tue Mar 11 | Proclamation of the Reign of God

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 2
  • Matthew 1 - 4
  • Luke 1 - 6

COMPLETE:

13 | Fri Mar 14 | The Reign of God and the People of God

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 3
  • Luke 7 - 11

COMPLETE:

14 | Tue Mar 18 | The Gathering of Israel

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 4
  • Mark 2 - 8
  • Luke 12 - 13

COMPLETE:

15 | Fri Mar 21 | The Call of Discipleship

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 5
  • Mark 9 - 10
  • Matthew 5 - 10

COMPLETE:

16 | Tue Mar 25 | Jesus' Parables

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 7
  • Matthew 11:1 - 20:34
  • Luke 14:1 - 19:27

COMPLETE:

17 | Fri Mar 28 | Jesus, Signs, and Miracles

READ:

  • John 1:19 - 12:50
  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 9

COMPLETE:

18 | Tue Apr 1 | Jesus and the Torah | RECEIVE TAKE HOME EXAM 3

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapters 11 - 12

COMPLETE:

19 | Fri Apr 4 | Jesus, Living Unconditionally

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 13

COMPLETE:

20 | Tue Apr 8 | Decision in Jerusalem

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapters 15
  • Mark 11 - 14:31
  • Matthew 21:1 - 26:35
  • Luke 19:28 - 22:38

COMPLETE:

21 | Fri Apr 11 | Dying for Israel

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapters 16 - 17
  • Mark 14:32 - 15:47
  • Matthew 26:36 - 27:66
  • Luke 22:39 - 23:56
  • John 13 - 19

COMPLETE:

BIBLICAL PERIOD 8: CHURCH (AD 30 – ESCHATON [THE END])

22 | Tue Apr 15 | The Easter Events

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 18
  • Mark 16
  • Matthew 28
  • Luke 24
  • John 20 - 21

COMPLETE:

23 | Tue Apr 22 | Jesus' Sovereign Claim

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 19
  • John 1:1-18
  • First Letter of John 1 - 5

COMPLETE:

24 | Fri Apr 25 | The Church's Response

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 20
  • Acts 1 - 2, 6 – 9, 13, 15, 17, 21, 27 – 28
  • Letter to the Philippians 1 - 4

COMPLETE:

25 | Tue Apr 29 | The Final Reign of God

READ:

  • Lohfink, Jesus of Nazareth, Chapter 21
  • Revelation 1:1–20, 4:1 – 5:14, 11:15 – 12:17, 19:1 – 22:21

COMPLETE:

26 | Fri May 2 | Christianity in the Twenty-First Century and Review

READ:

  • John Paul II, Redeemer of Man

COMPLETE:

27 | Final Exam Week | Final Cumulative Exam

THE 1000C 11293 10:40am Section: Tuesday, May 13, 10:40 - 12:40