HON 2400 Course Schedule - Spring 2019 - Online Edition (projected)

UNIT ZERO | INTRODUCTION

WEEK 1 - Wed, Jan 23 - Sat, Jan 26

UNIT 0.1: Introduction

READ:

WATCH:

COMPLETE:

UNIT ONE | BIBLICAL SPIRITUALITY

WEEK 2 - Mon, Jan 28 - Sat, Feb 2

Unit 1.1 | Reading the Bible as a Drama | Biblical Spirituality: Creation and Covenant Theme

READ:

  • Genesis 1:1 - 4:16, 12:1-3, 19:1-6
  • 2 Samuel 7:1-17

WATCH:

COMPLETE:

Unit 1.2 | Biblical Spirituality: Asceticism, Bridal Mysticism, and Mystical Vision Themes

READ:

  • Job 1:1-2:13; 38:1-42:17
  • Song of Solomon 1:1-8:14
  • Isaiah 6:1-13

WATCH:

COMPLETE:

WEEK 3 - Mon, Feb 4 - Sat, Feb 9

Unit 1.3 | Biblical Spirituality: All About Jesus 1

READ:

  • Psalms 13 - 18
  • Matthew 1:1 - 3:17, 4:1 - 5:48, 6:1 - 7:29, 22:1 - 14; 25:1 - 13, 26:1 - 28:20

WATCH:

COMPLETE:

Unit 1.4 | Biblical Spirituality: All About Jesus 2

READ:

  • Ephesians 1:1 - 6:24
  • Revelation 1:1 – 20, 11:15 – 12:17, 19:1 – 22:21

WATCH:

COMPLETE:

Unit 1.5 | Assessment: Biblical Spirituality

COMPLETE:

UNIT TWO | FOUNDATIONS OF CHRISTIAN MYSTICISM

WEEK 4 - Mon, Feb 11 - Sat, Feb 16

Unit 2.1 | Foundations of Christian Mysticism

READ:

  • John 4:1-42
  • Olivier Clément, Roots of Christian Mysticism, Part 1, Chapter 1-2, pgs. 7-34

WATCH:

COMPLETE:

Unit 2.2 | Foundations: Approaching the Center of the Christian Mystery

READ:

WATCH:

COMPLETE:

WEEK 5 - Mon, Feb 18 - Sat, Feb 23

Unit 2.3 | Foundations: Human Vocation

READ:

  • Olivier Clément, Roots of Christian Mysticism, Part 1, Chapter 5, pgs. 76 - 91

COMPLETE:

Unit 2.4 | Foundations: Ecclesia (Church)

READ:

  • Olivier Clément, Roots of Christian Mysticism, Part 2, Chapter 1, pgs. 95-129

COMPLETE:

WEEK 6 - Mon, Feb 25 - Sat, Mar 2

Unit 2.5 | Foundations: Interior Combat and Christian Asceticism

READ:

  • Olivier Clément, Roots of Christian Mysticism, Part 2, Chapters 2-4, pgs. 130-177

COMPLETE:

Unit 2.6 | Foundations: Christian Prayer

READ:

  • Olivier Clément, Roots of Christian Mysticism, Part 3, Chapter 1-2, pgs. 181-229

COMPLETE:

WEEK 7 - Mon, Mar 11 - Sat, Mar 16

Unit 2.7 | Foundations: Enstasy - Ecstasy

READ:

  • Olivier Clément, Roots of Christian Mysticism, Part 3, Chapter 3, pgs. 230-269

COMPLETE:

Unit 2.8 | Foundations: Christian Love

READ:

  • Olivier Clément, Roots of Christian Mysticism, Part 3, Chapter 3, pgs. 270-307

COMPLETE:

Unit 2.9 | Assessment on Foundations of Christian Mysticism

COMPLETE:

UNIT THREE | ORTHODOX SPIRITUALITY

WEEK 8 - Mon, Mar 18 - Sat, Mar 23

Unit 3.1 | Pilgrim Spirituality

READ:

  • The Way of a Pilgrim, Foreword, Preface, Chapter 1, Appendix, pgs. 7-25, 176-194

WATCH:

  • Introduction to Eastern Orthodox Church

COMPLETE:

Unit 3.2 | Pilgrim Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • The Way of a Pilgrim, Chapter 2 - 3, pgs. 26-62

WATCH:

  • Introduction to Pilgrim Spirituality
  • Camino de Santiago Video

COMPLETE:

Week 9 - Mon, Mar 25 - Sat, Mar 30

Unit 3.3 | Pilgrim Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • The Way of a Pilgrim, Chapter 4, pgs. 63-94

COMPLETE:

Unit 3.4 | Pilgrim Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • The Way of a Pilgrim, Chapter 5 - 6, pgs. 95-175

COMPLETE:

Unit 3.5 | Assessment

COMPLETE:

UNIT FOUR | CONTEMPLATIVE SPIRITUALITY

WEEK 10 - Mon, Apr 1 - Sat, Apr 6

UNIT 4.1 | Contemplative Spirituality

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Introductions and Part One, Chapter 1, pgs. xi - 32

WATCH:

  • Introduction to Thomas Merton Video

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 17

UNIT 4.2 | Contemplative Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Part One, Chapter 2, pgs. 33 - 74

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 18

Week 11 - Mon, Apr 8 - Sat, Apr 13

UNIT 4.3 | Contemplative Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Part One, Chapter 3, pgs. 75 - 144

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 19

UNIT 4.4 | Contemplative Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Part One, Chapter 4, pgs. 145 - 182

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 20

Week 12 - Mon, Apr 15 - Sat, Apr 27 (Easter Weekend Extension)

UNIT 4.5 | Contemplative Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Part Two, Chapter 1, pgs. 185 - 246

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 21

UNIT 4.6 | Contemplative Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Part Two, Chapter 2, pgs. 247 - 280

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 22

Week 13 - Mon, Apr 29 - Sat, May 4 (Final Week)

UNIT 4.7 | Contemplative Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Part Three Chapter 1 - 2, pgs. 283 - 368

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 23

UNIT 4.8 | Contemplative Spirituality (continued)

READ:

  • Thomas Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, Part Three Chapter 3 - 4, pgs. 369 - 444

COMPLETE:

  • Encountering Spirituality Assignment Sheet 24

FINAL EXAM WEEK | Thu, May 9 - Wed, May 15

COMPLETE:

  • Final Paper
  • Final Exam